Home » artists I admire » Hiroshi Matsumoto

Hiroshi Matsumoto

Apr. 1, 2013′ (2013) from the ‘9×9 painting’ series by Japanese abstract painter Hiroshi Matsumoto (b.1953). Oil on canvas, 9 x 9 cm. via the artist on Flickr.

Amazing if we take the time to look we can find inspiration everywhere from every corner of this earth. I loved how politely you are welcomed to his site. Welcome to www.hiroshimatsumoto.com

I agree with Hiroshi that you can get lost in exploring the paths of colour.  I particularily was drawn to this piece as I liked the soft colour combination. Lovely!

“I love oil paint, it’s texture, viscosity, slow-drying time and smell. I paint abstract. I never know what it is going to be until it’s complete. When I start to paint, I always put some colours on the canvas without thinking. My choice of colours is often accidental or intuitive. I try to catch the chance meeting of colour with composition. Sometimes I get lost, and then other times I find myself walking along a path that brings me back to where I belong. Abstract is for me a concrete way to share an inner sense, place and time with you directly and deeply.”  Artists Statement Hiroshi Matsumoto .

screen-shot-2016-09-27-at-9-28-50-amscreen-shot-2016-09-27-at-9-24-22-am

1 Comment

  1. Nicole Collard says:

    I wanted to buy this one ! Ihad to choose another one .I love His work so much !!!

Leave a Reply

